Check up!

Lincoln has been pretty sweaty at night so we took him to CHOP to see his cardiologist. We did the typical 24 hour Holter monitor, 12 lead EKG and and echocardiogram. Lincoln has been pretty congested lately and it’s always troubling having to figuring out if it’s his heart that’s causing low oxygen saturation, the virus, or if the virus is effecting the heart. Our heart baby just can’t handle being sick like a healthy kid can. It makes these months very challenging and stressful! This is when I call in our team for answers. It’s far too much for me to handle and way beyond my knowledge of congenital heart disease to decide what’s going on,
I’m happy to report on echo Lincoln’s heart looked good. He’s congested and is fighting a cold so we will be careful about taking him anywhere. Im hopeful people are seeing how harmful the flu and other viruses are this year and are taking action by getting their flu shots and washing their hands!

We didn’t take Luna with us today because the hospital is so germy! I almost canceled our appointment today because I was having trouble justifying the risk of just going to the hospital. I think I spent half the night tossing and turning— thinking if this is the right decision or not. It sounds crazy but if Lincoln gets an infection, It can infect the Porcine valve that was just placed 6 months ago and we’d have to go through open heart surgery all over again! I would have a really hard time with that.

All in all, Im glad we went and got some validation. Lincoln was a good boy and washed his hands about 10 times . His team is so wonderful it’s hard to believe we’ve only know each other for 3 years. We have gone through a lifetime of experiences together and I’m confident I could fill a bucket with the tears that I have spilled in that office. Hopefully those scary/ sad days are behind us.

Hoping to stay clear from the flu and all of those other nasty bugs out there. Can’t wait for the spring!! Here’s to Lincoln, constantly beating the odds and paving the way for others. I hope I can be an great as him one day! 

Leave a comment